I've received complaints that mail from a particular AOL user to an
account on a server of mine using Postfix + SA is being wrongly marked
as spam. I asked the AOL user to copy me some of the offending emails
but that turned out not to be necessary, as even a simple reply from
him to me gets marked as spam. An extract from the analysis from one
such mail is below:
> Content analysis details: (8.2 points, 5.0 required)
>> pts rule name description
> ---- ----------------------
> --------------------------------------------------
> 2.9 NO_RDNS_DOTCOM_HELO Host HELO'd as a big ISP, but had no rDNS
> 1.8 FAKE_HELO_AOL Host HELO did not match rDNS: aol.co
However, the headers of the original mail include these:
> Return-Path: <ThePhantom at aol.com>
> Received: from imo-m21.mx.aol.com (unknown [64.12.137.2])
> by mail.magicgoeshere.com (Postfix on Linux) with ESMTP id 656C6201B
> for <niall at archivease.com>; Thu, 30 Dec 2004 21:03:26 +0000 (GMT)
> Received: from ThePhantom at aol.com> by imo-m21.mx.aol.com (mail_out_v37_r3.8.) id z.1df.31fab18a (1320)
> for <niall at archivease.com>; Thu, 30 Dec 2004 16:03:20 -0500 (EST)
> From: ThePhantom at aol.com> Message-ID: <1df.31fab18a.2f05c718 at aol.com>
> Date: Thu, 30 Dec 2004 16:03:20 EST
Given the Received: line there, I'm at a loss as to how the mail
triggered NO_RDNS_DOTCOM_HELO and FAKE_HELO_AOL. Any ideas? SA version
2.63 BTW.
Niall
Maintained by the ILUG website team. The aim of Linux.ie is to
support and help commercial and private users of Linux in Ireland. You can
display ILUG news in your own webpages, read backend
information to find out how. Networking services kindly provided by HEAnet, server kindly donated by
Dell. Linux is a trademark of Linus Torvalds,
used with permission. No penguins were harmed in the production or maintenance
of this highly praised website. Looking for the
Indian Linux Users' Group? Try here. If you've read all this and aren't a lawyer: you should be!