On 14 January 2004 13:11, Breathnach, Proinnsias (Dublin) wrote:
>> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Ken Gilmour Subject: Re: [ILUG] your account
> > voiverwe
> >
> > Is this for real?
> >
> > Looks like spam to me but just to be sure.
> Nope ... definately SPAM ...
>> The giveaway is the subject - lots of spaces followed by
> random letters !
And by looking further in the headers:
> Received: from p78-107.as1.crl.dublin.eircom.net ([159.134.78.107]
> helo=localhost) by byron.heanet.ie with smtp (Exim 4.22)
> id 1Agiby-000528-0n
> for ilug at linux.ie; Wed, 14 Jan 2004 10:51:02 +0000
it seems to originate from an eircom ADSL subscriber.
Had the mail been sent directly to me, I would have
reported the abuse to eircom.
Does anyone in eircom respond to these reports?
I keep receiving and blocking incoming requests
from eircom ADSL users on TCP port 4444 (napster)
and port 6346 (gnutella).
[Note: if you do get port scanned and want to report it,
please include the following information:
Source IP address, source port, protocol (e.g. UDP, TCP),
destination IP address, destination port, time.]
-Mark Webb.
P.S. s/definately/definitely/
Maintained by the ILUG website team. The aim of Linux.ie is to
support and help commercial and private users of Linux in Ireland. You can
display ILUG news in your own webpages, read backend
information to find out how. Networking services kindly provided by HEAnet, server kindly donated by
Dell. Linux is a trademark of Linus Torvalds,
used with permission. No penguins were harmed in the production or maintenance
of this highly praised website. Looking for the
Indian Linux Users' Group? Try here. If you've read all this and aren't a lawyer: you should be!