On 1 Aug 2008, at 11:18, Colm Buckley wrote:
> On Fri, Aug 1, 2008 at 10:59 AM, Michele Neylon :: Blacknight <michele at blacknight.ie> > wrote:
>> All of the RFCs on mail format cover what is meant to be in there.
> Unfortunately I can't access the IETF site at the moment, so I can't
> give you RFC numbers
>> Ok; please let me know when your complaint can include this
> information and I'll see whether something can or should be done. I
> can't find a mention of it in RFC2822, which would be the usual
> suspect in this case.
From recollection there was a section about the sender source ie.
where the mail came from . This includes other SMTP servers etc.,
right back to the actual person's desktop.
>>> Of course, all that it would be possible to capture will be the
> address from which the HTTP requests are being made; which would
> probably be a proxy in the majority case. Emails sent using SMTP
> (as opposed to the web interface) through GMail does have all of the
> Received: headers. Which header should have the IP address of the
> HTTP client?
>> If I wanted to send threatening emails, scam emails, abusive emails
> to former employers etc., Gmail / Google Apps would be the platform
> of choice
> Because there's no other way to hide one's IP, or otherwise
> anonymize email, using a service which requires a signup procedure
> is the way to go?
>> Gmail makes hiding your IP too easy.
>> All the other free webmail providers don't hide the original sender
> IP so you can deal directly with the source of the problem, be that
> as a source of spam, verbal abuse etc.,
>> Is the IP of the HTTP client really that useful? I wouldn't think
> it would be reliable as an identifier, given the widespread use of
> HTTP proxies. I don't have an account with any other webmail
> providers; if you could include an extract of the relevant headers,
> that would be useful.
The original IP is useful. If it is a proxy you can block the proxy or
do something with it.
See below:
Received: from [81.17.243.xxx] by web57615.mail.re1.yahoo.com via
HTTP; Fri, 01 Aug 2008 03:25:29 PDT
I removed the last octet, but you can see it in your own email client
easily if you look ie. I'm sending this email from the same IP now
>>> You don't see yahoo's mail servers ALL being blacklisted, but you do
> see it happening to Gmail regularly.
>> [citation needed]
>> Personally, I think anyone who trusts a blacklist dumb enough to
> include any of the really large mail providers is themselves in need
> of some adjustment.
If you were handling mail for thousands of users and those users were
being spammed constantly from one source what would you do?
Mr Michele Neylon
Blacknight Solutions
Hosting & Colocation, Brand Protection
http://www.blacknight.com/http://blog.blacknight.com/
Intl. +353 (0) 59 9183072
US: 213-233-1612
UK: 0844 484 9361
Locall: 1850 929 929
Direct Dial: +353 (0)59 9183090
Fax. +353 (0) 1 4811 763
-------------------------------
Blacknight Internet Solutions Ltd, Unit 12A,Barrowside Business
Park,Sleaty
Road,Graiguecullen,Carlow,Ireland Company No.: 370845
Maintained by the ILUG website team. The aim of Linux.ie is to
support and help commercial and private users of Linux in Ireland. You can
display ILUG news in your own webpages, read backend
information to find out how. Networking services kindly provided by HEAnet, server kindly donated by
Dell. Linux is a trademark of Linus Torvalds,
used with permission. No penguins were harmed in the production or maintenance
of this highly praised website. Looking for the
Indian Linux Users' Group? Try here. If you've read all this and aren't a lawyer: you should be!