Re: [ILUG] [way-ot] darklite.com should, never, ever, be considered for web-anything

From: Niall (niall at domain magicgoeshere.com)
Date: Sat 06 May 2000 - 22:55:46 IST


On Sat, May 06, 2000 at 10:01:41PM +0100, Philip Reynolds wrote

> I haven't been at his site in ages actually, it's very cheest at the moment
> alright, it used to be much better (dunno what happened to it). Just the irish
> alternative I know of anyways

Except it's not really Irish - oh I'm sure darksite.com is an Irish company,
but the only thing Irish about their hosting services is that an Irish
company is taking a cut for providing a virtual domain on a box in the
States (they use albanza.com). Now I've nothing against this, as such, but
the implication that they're an Irish hosting company I find a bit galling.
I'm also a little unhappy with certain things I find in their FAQ e.g.

] Darklite.Com runs servers at different geographic locations around the globe

As far as I can see, they don't run servers anywhere - they resell virtual
domains on somebody else's hosting platform.

] Can I get a Dial-Up service from Darklite.Com? No . . . , since our networks
] are not tied up with dial-up subscribers.

Our networks ? What networks ? Clearly, Darklite.com can't provide ISP type
services as they have no net infrastructure of their own.

Now, I don't know these people from Adam, and they're only doing what
thousands of others are doing, but don't think that they're a particularly
Irish hosting company. They may do what they do as well as can be expected,
but I don't like their marketing approach - but then I'm not know as a
friend of sales reptiles and marketing droids.

Regards,

Niall



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.6 : Thu 06 Feb 2003 - 13:06:03 GMT