Re: [ILUG] Re: [ILUG][OT] Business Opportunity

From: Ewan McDonell (ewan at domain smairlines.com)
Date: Mon 01 Jul 2002 - 17:07:07 IST


On Monday 01 Jul 2002 3:17 pm, Matthew French wrote:

> Sorry about the OT. It is bad enough that these people think we will
> believe their sh*te, but do we really have to be subjected to such poor
> attempts?
>
> Is it possible to get the original mail header? Or is it correct that the
> mail was originally received from a BT OpenWorld IP address?
> (213.121.106.109)

I have been having a diabolical time with this. Unbelievably, these
arseholes have been systematically working their way through a
number of websites I own, and cutting and pasting their scam
messages into email forms that are intended for advertisers on my
sites (apolloduck.ie). Consequently, I am now logging all IP addresses of
users sending email enquiries through the sites, and I have managed
to identify a couple of source networks in Nigeria. I've now entered these
entire netblocks into my firewall so that nobody from these networks can
access any of my services. Since none of my sites are targeted at
that part of the world, I'm quite happy to wipe out any traffic from a
couple of ISPs in Nigeria. The networks I'm blocking at the moment
are 193.110.2.0 - 193.110.3.255 and 195.166.224.0 - 195.166.237.255.

If I find any more source networks in Nigeria, I'll happily DENY the
entire blocks. BT OpenWorld would a different matter however... :-\

Ewan McDonell



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.6 : Thu 06 Feb 2003 - 13:17:37 GMT